5/52 | Happy by Pharrell Williams

5/52 Happy by Pharrell

Lyrics

It might seem crazy what I’m about to say
Sunshine she’s here, you can take away
I’m a hot air balloon, I could go to space
With the air, like I don’t care baby by the way

Because I’m happy
Clap along if you feel like a room without a roof
Because I’m happy
Clap along if you feel like happiness is the truth
Because I’m happy
Clap along if you know what happiness is to you
Because I’m happy
Clap along if you feel like that’s what you wanna do

Here come bad news talking this and that
Yeah, give me all you got, don’t hold back
Yeah, well I should probably warn you I’ll be just fine
Yeah, no offense to you don’t waste your time
Here’s why

Because I’m happy
Clap along if you feel like a room without a roof
Because I’m happy
Clap along if you feel like happiness is the truth
Because I’m happy
Clap along if you know what happiness is to you
Because I’m happy
Clap along if you feel like that’s what you wanna do

Happy, bring me down
Can’t nothing, bring me down
Love is too happy to bring me down
Can’t nothing, bring me down
I said bring me down
Can’t nothing, bring me down
Love is too happy to bring me down
Can’t nothing, bring me down
I said

X2:  Because I’m happy
Clap along if you feel like a room without a roof
Because I’m happy
Clap along if you feel like happiness is the truth
Because I’m happy
Clap along if you know what happiness is to you
Because I’m happy
Clap along if you feel like that’s what you wanna do

Happy, bring me down
Can’t nothing, bring me down
Love is too happy to bring me down
Can’t nothing, bring me down
I said

X2:  Because I’m happy
Clap along if you feel like a room without a roof
Because I’m happy
Clap along if you feel like happiness is the truth
Because I’m happy
Clap along if you know what happiness is to you
Because I’m happy
Clap along if you feel like that’s what you wanna do

Interpretation 

This is purely a feel-good, clap-along song…it literally instructs you to clap along about every five seconds!   I’ve been hearing it frequently on my John Legend Pandora Station at work, and it soothes and energizes at the same time.

After digging a bit more into this song, I found that it was featured on soundtrack for the film Despicable Me 2…. the one with all the cute little minions.  The music video (link provided in above photo) is just as uplifting as the song itself, and after watching it I’ve grown to enjoy and respect Pharrell Williams even more.

Because this song is so simple and uses the same chorus repeatedly, this becomes a song that I encourage you to just listen to.  It will lift you up when you are down, energize you when you need a boost, and after watching the video you’ll be cutting a rug in ways you never thought possible (if you are over 20, please don’t try the head stand moves)!

A takeaway from one of the verses:

“Clap along if you know what happiness is to you”   Do you know what happiness is to you, truly? Find it.  How are you fulfilling your life through love and happiness?   Fulfill it.

Or, maybe these are not things you desire (is that possible?!) in life.  And if so, I’d like to know the things in life that do make you want to ‘clap along’ if you don’t feel fulfilled in life by happiness and/or love?

Sum Up 

Just be Happy.  Life is Good.

 

 

One thought on “5/52 | Happy by Pharrell Williams

Leave a Reply

